Bonner Querschnitte 09/2019 Ausgabe 573 (eng)

Zurück

† Marat Zakhidov (1940–2019) – a tireless fighter for human rights worldwide

(Bonn, 20.03.2019) At the age of 78, Prof. Dr. Marat Zakhidov, Secretary General of the International Council of the ISHR, has left us. It is no coincidence that he died far away from his homeland Uzbekistan, in Jerusalem on one of his many missions.

Photo: President and Secretary General of the International Council of the Internationalen Society for Human Rights © Thomas SchirrmacherMarat Zakhidov was born in 1940 in Kokand in the Fergana Valley in Uzbekistan. He was a sensitive, dazzling, even controversial personality, but that drive helped him achieve a lot. As the son of the most important Uzbek scientist of his time, the zoologist Tesha Zakhidov, he had all the doors opened for him. He spent a large part of his schooling in the United Kingdom, graduating from Moscow State University with a doctorate in mathematics and physics. His passion, however, was politics. In 1989, he ran for office as a representative to the Supreme Soviet parliament of the Soviet Union and failed. After the collapse of the Soviet Union, he took a chair at the University of Tashkent and engaged in politics at the same time. He became a deputy of the Supreme Soviet of Uzbekistan and ran for president, but lost to long-time President Karimov. His campaign for a constituency against his opponent, Mohammed Salih, who propagated the Islamization of Uzbekistan and the establishment of a caliphate on the borders of the former empire of Alexander the Great, shaped Zakhidov’s political thinking and his political goals: preventing Islamization and securing human rights. In 1991, he founded the “Committee for the Defense of the Rights of the Individual,” which was primarily for victims of corruption and abuse of rights.

In 1995, Marat Zakhidov visited the ISHR and applied for membership. In 1996, in agreement with the members of the “Committee for the Defense of Individual Rights,” the group was admitted as a section to the ISHR International Council. In Uzbekistan, the committee retained its name, outside the country, it appeared as ISHR section Uzbekistan.

Photo: Visiting the Mufti of Usbekistan with Marat Zakhidov © Thomas SchirrmacherFrom 1999 to 2003, five high-profile human rights seminars were held in Tashkent, Samarkand, Andijan, and Bucchara on the initiative of Marat Zakhidov and with financial support from the European Commission. Nearly all Uzbek human rights organizations and initiatives, church and Muslim organizations that participated in these conferences were some of which had very different goals and positions. Despite heated discussions and differences, Marat Zakhidov managed to win them over as participants in the next seminars. Despite his clear stance on the immensely bad human rights situation under Karimov’s rule, Marat Zakhidov defended his crackdown on Islamic extremists, who had propagated the subjugation of Uzbekistan’s citizens in a Caliphate according to Qur’anic rules and had carried out assassinations. The massacre of Andijan, where Uzbek members of the ISHR acted as mediators between the government and Islamists, but were taken hostage after a premature attack by the police and murdered by the terrorists, touched him personally.

Marat Zakhidov has remained faithful to his line all his life: active, always ready to undertake a difficult mission, and to stand up for victims of grave human rights violations, he has helped many people to freedom and helped many in acute need. He was generous to his friends and relentless in opposition to those whom he saw as enemies of human rights. Despite severe diabetes, he knew no peace, but traveled constantly from one country to the next. Now he has embarked on his last journey.

We have received letters of condolence from our sections all over the world, which Marat Zakhidov, as Secretary-General, has visited almost all. The ISHR lost in Prof. Dr. Marat Zakhidov an activist, a patron, and a good friend.

He will always be in our minds.

Thomas Schirrmacher, Prof. Dr.
President of the International Council of the ISHR


Downloads and Links:

  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einPhoto 1: President and Secretary General of the International Council of the Internationalen Society for Human Rights © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einPhoto 2: Visiting the Mufti of Usbekistan with Marat Zakhidov © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einPhoto 3: With Marat Zakhidov (far right) visiting the Minister for Religions in Usbekistan © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einPhoto 4: The Board of the International Council of the Internationalen Society for Human Rights, Karl Hafen, Marat Zakhidov, Thomas Schirrmacher in the headquarter in Frankfurt © Thomas Schirrmacher

Dokumente

BQ0573eng.pdf

Alle Ressourcen »

Bonner Querschnitte 09/2019 Ausgabe 573

Zurück

† Marat Zachidow (1940–2019) – ein unermüdlicher Kämpfer für Menschenrechte weltweit

(Bonn, 20.03.2019) Im Alter von 78 Jahren ist Prof. Dr. Marat Zachidow, Generalsekretär des Internationalen Rates der IGFM, von uns gegangen. Nicht zufällig starb er weit weg von seiner Heimat Usbekistan in Jerusalem auf einer seiner vielen Missionen.

Foto: Präsident und Generalsekretär des Internationalen Rates der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Menschenrechte © Thomas SchirrmacherMarat Zachidow wurde 1940 in Kokand im Ferganatal in Usbekistan geboren. Er war eine kantige, schillernde, ja umstrittene Persönlichkeit, die aber gerade dadurch viel bewirkte. Als Sohn des bedeutendsten usbekischen Wissenschaftlers seiner Zeit, des Zoologen Tesha Zachidow, standen ihm alle Türen offen: Er verbrachte einen großen Teil seiner Schulzeit in Großbritannien, sein Studium an der staatlichen Universität in Moskau beendete er mit der Promotion in Mathematik und Physik. Seine Leidenschaft galt jedoch der Politik. 1989 kandidierte er noch für ein Abgeordnetenamt des Obersten Sowjets der Sowjetunion und scheiterte. Nach dem Zusammenbruch der Sowjetunion übernahm er einen Lehrstuhl an der Universität Taschkent und engagierte sich gleichzeitig in der Politik. Er wurde Abgeordneter des Obersten Sowjets Usbekistans und kandidierte für das Amt des Präsidenten, aber unterlag dem langjährigen Präsidenten Karimow. Der Wettbewerb um seinen Wahlkreis mit dem Mitbewerber Mohammed Salih, der die Islamisierung Usbekistans und die Gründung eines Kalifats in den Grenzen des früheren Reiches Alexanders propagierte, prägten Zachidows politisches Denken und seine politischen Ziele: die Islamisierung verhindern und die Menschenrechte sichern. 1991 gründete er das „Komitee für die Verteidigung der Rechte des Individuums“, das sich hauptsächlich für Opfer von Korruption und Rechtsmissbrauch einsetzte.

1995 besuchte Marat Zachidow die IGFM/ISHR und stellte einen Antrag auf Mitgliedschaft in der IGFM. Im Einvernehmen mit den Mitgliedern des „Komitees für die Verteidigung der Rechte des Individuums“ wurde die Gruppe 1996 als Sektion in den Internationalen Rat der ISHR aufgenommen. Im Innenverkehr Usbekistans behielt das Komitee seinen Namen, nach außen trat es als ISHR-Sektion Usbekistan auf.

Foto: Mit Marat Zakhidov beim Mufti von Usbeskistan © Thomas Schirrmacher1999 bis 2003 fanden auf Initiative Marat Zachidows und mit finanzieller Förderung der EU-Kommission fünf hochkarätig besetzte Menschenrechtsseminare in Taschkent, Samarkand, Andijan und Bucchara statt. Nahezu alle in dieser Zeit aktiven usbekischen Menschenrechtsorganisationen und –initiativen, kirchliche und muslimische Verbände, die zum Teil sehr unterschiedliche Ziele und Positionen hatten, nahmen daran teil. Trotz hitziger Diskussionen und Differenzen gelang es Marat Zachidow, sie auch als Teilnehmer der nächsten Seminare zu gewinnen. Trotz seiner klaren Haltung zu der unübersehbar schlechten Menschenrechtslage unter der Regierung Karimows verteidigte Marat Zachidow dessen hartes Vorgehen gegen islamische Extremisten, die die Unterwerfung der Bürger Usbekistans in einem nach koranischen Regeln geführten Khalifat propagierten und Attentate verübt hatten. Das Massaker von Andijan, als sich usbekische Mitglieder der ISHR als Vermittler zwischen Regierung und Islamisten zur Verfügung stellten, dann aber nach einem verfrühten Angriff der Polizei als Geiseln genommen und von den Terroristen ermordet wurden, hat ihn persönlich sehr getroffen.

Marat Zachidow ist seiner Linie sein Leben lang treu geblieben: Umtriebig, jederzeit bereit, eine auch schwierige Mission wahrzunehmen und sich nachhaltig für Opfer schwerer Menschenrechtsverletzungen einzusetzen, hat er vielen Menschen zur Freiheit verholfen und aus akuter Not geholfen. Er war großzügig gegenüber seinen Freunden und unnachgiebig gegenüber denen, die er als Feinde der Menschenrechte ansah. Trotz schwerer Diabetes kannte er keine Ruhe, sondern reiste unentwegt von einem Land ins nächste. Nun hat er seine letzte Reise angetreten.

Aus aller Welt erreichen uns Würdigungen und Kondolenzschreiben unserer Sektionen, die Marat Zachidow als Generalsekretär fast alle besucht hat. Die IGFM/ISHR verliert in Prof. Dr. Marat Zachidow einen Aktivisten, einen Gönner und guten Freund.

Wir werden ihm stets ein würdiges Gedenken bewahren.

Thomas Schirrmacher, Präsident des Internationalen Rates der IGFM/ISHR
Karl Hafen, Kassierer des Internationalen Rates der IGFM/ISHR


Downloads und Links:

  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einFoto 1: Präsident und Generalsekretär des Internationalen Rates der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Menschenrechte © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einFoto 2: Mit Marat Zachidow beim Mufti von Usbekistan © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einFoto 3: Mit Marat Zachidow (ganz rechts) beim Religionsminister von Usbekistan © Thomas Schirrmacher
  • Leitet Herunterladen der Datei einFoto 4: Der Vorstand des Internationalen Rates der Internationalen Gesellschaft für Menschenrechte: Karl Hafen, Marat Zachidow, Thomas Schirrmacher, in der Zentrale Frankfurt © Thomas Schirrmacher

Dokumente

BQ0573.pdf

Alle Ressourcen »