Bonner Querschnitte 15/2021 Ausgabe 686 (eng)

Zurück

WEA Pays Tribute to Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu

(Bonn, 30.08.2021) It was with great sadness and shock that the World Evangelical Alliance (WEA) leadership received the news of the death of our dear friend and colleague, Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu, in Romania. Corneliu passed away on March 17th after just a few days of fighting the effects of COVID-19. He was 53 years old and leaves behind his dear wife, Ioana, and daughters, Carmen and Anamaria.

Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu © privateCorneliu was a trusted member of the WEA’s Theological Commission and had been active also in the International Council for Evangelical Theological Education (ICETE), the International Fellowship for Mission as Transformation (INFEMIT), the Central and Eastern European Association of Mission Studies (CEEAMS), Langham Partnership International, and many other organizations.

Most recently he pioneered important post-graduate programs in Christian public theology at Arad State University in Romania and mentored students at various other institutions around the globe. Among his many publications, he served as general editor for the ‘Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary’ and as co-editor for ‘Mission in Central and Eastern Europe: Realities, Perspectives, Trends’ (Regnum Press). He also wrote in the areas of theology, mission and justice for children at risk and on Paul’s theology of reconciliation.

“Despite his many accomplishments, Corneliu was a true servant of God who lived with great integrity, always witnessing to the good news of the kingdom of God with joy, strength and humility. His unmistakable laughter will be sorely missed,” said Dr. Rosalee Velloso Ewell, Executive Director of WEA’s Theological Commission. “All of us in the WEA pray for Corneliu’s family, his friends and collaborators who are left behind and who now seek ways to carry on the work he started without their trusted friend and leader. As we approach the Easter season, we are reminded that our hope is in Christ alone, in His cross and resurrection, and that like Corneliu, we are called to witness to this hope in all that we say and do.”

“Corneliu was a valuable member of the WEA Theological Commission always emphasizing that the gospel transforms individuals, nations and the world. As I have been teaching in Timisoara, 60 km away from his university in Arad, I could also see how respected he was among Christians and non-Christians in Romania. He is a real loss to the church in Romania and the global body of Christ,” said Bp. Dr. Thomas Schirrmacher, Secretary General of the WEA.

“Corneliu has been one of the most prolific evangelical theologians in Eastern Europe, a great networker and to many of us a great friend. His wisdom and experience was greatly appreciated by many of us and he will be greatly missed,” said Rev. Dr. Frank Hinkelmann, Vice-Chair of the WEA International Council and President of the European Evangelical Alliance.

”Corneliu was a man of remarkable academic and managerial skills, but also a person with special human and Christian qualities. We are confident that the life and example of Corneliu will continue to be a landmark and a source of inspiration for many of those who have known him – in person or through his publications,” said Rev. Prof. Alexandru Neagoe, President of the Areopagus Centre, Timisoara, Romania.

“A dear friend and colleague in the Networking Team of INFEMIT for over a decade, a passionate, creative and dedicated pioneer in theological education, Corneliu brought laughter and depth, energy and perspective to our life and work together. His gusto for life and his tireless and fruitful dedication to God’s work were contagious, a gift and inspiration to all who had the privilege of knowing him,” said Ruth Padilla DeBorst, Networking Team Coordinator, International Fellowship for Mission as Transformation, INFEMIT.


Downloads and Links:

  • Photo: Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu © private

Dokumente

BQ0686eng.pdf

Bonner Querschnitte 15/2021 Ausgabe 686

Zurück

Die WEA würdigt Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu

(Bonn, 30.08.2021) Mit großer Trauer und Bestürzung hat die Leitung der Weltweiten Evangelischen Allianz (WEA) die Nachricht vom Tod unseres lieben Freundes und Kollegen, Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu, in Rumänien erhalten. Corneliu verstarb am 17. März, nachdem er nur wenige Tage mit den Auswirkungen von COVID-19 gekämpft hatte. Er war 53 Jahre alt und hinterlässt seine liebe Frau Ioana und seine Töchter Carmen und Anamaria.

Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu © privatCorneliu war ein angesehenes Mitglied der Theologischen Kommission der WEA und engagierte sich auch im Internationalen Rat für evangelikale theologische Ausbildung (ICETE), in der Internationalen Gemeinschaft für Mission als Transformation (INFEMIT), in der Mittel- und Osteuropäischen Vereinigung für Missionsstudien (CEEAMS), in der Langham Partnership International und in vielen anderen Organisationen.

In jüngster Zeit leistete er Pionierarbeit für wichtige Postgraduierten-Programme in christlicher Theologie im öffentlichen Diskurs an der Staatlichen Universität Arad in Rumänien und betreute Studenten an verschiedenen anderen Institutionen rund um den Globus. Neben seinen zahlreichen Veröffentlichungen war er Chefredakteur des ‚Central and Eastern European Bible Commentary‘ und Mitherausgeber von ‚Mission in Central and Eastern Europe: Realities, Perspectives, Trends‘ (Regnum Press). Er schrieb auch in den Fachgebieten Theologie, Mission und Gerechtigkeit für gefährdete Kinder und über Paulus’ Theologie der Versöhnung.

„Trotz seiner vielen Leistungen war Corneliu ein wahrer Diener Gottes, der in großer Integrität lebte und die gute Nachricht vom Reich Gottes stets mit Freude, Kraft und Demut bezeugte. Sein unverwechselbares Lachen wird uns sehr fehlen“, sagte Dr. Rosalee Velloso Ewell, Geschäftsführerin der Theologischen Kommission der WEA. „Wir alle in der WEA beten für Cornelius Familie, seine Freunde und Mitarbeiter, die zurückbleiben und nun nach Wegen suchen, die Arbeit, die er begonnen hat, ohne ihren vertrauten Freund und Leiter fortzuführen. Während wir uns der Osterzeit nähern, werden wir daran erinnert, dass unsere Hoffnung allein in Christus liegt, in seinem Kreuz und seiner Auferstehung, und dass wir, wie Corneliu, aufgerufen sind, diese Hoffnung in allem, was wir sagen und tun, zu bezeugen.“

„Corneliu war ein wertvolles Mitglied der Theologischen Kommission der WEA; er betonte immer wieder, dass das Evangelium den Einzelnen, die Nationen und die Welt verwandelt. Da ich seit langem an der Universität des Westens in Timisoara unterrichtete, 60 km von seiner Universität in Arad entfernt, konnte ich auch sehen, wie sehr er unter Christen und Nicht-Christen in Rumänien respektiert wurde. Er ist ein echter Verlust für die Kirche in Rumänien und für den weltweiten Leib Christi“, sagte Bischof Dr. Thomas Schirrmacher, Generalsekretär der WEA.

„Corneliu war einer der produktivsten evangelischen Theologen in Osteuropa, ein großartiger Netzwerker und für viele von uns ein großartiger Freund. Seine Weisheit und Erfahrung wurde von vielen von uns sehr geschätzt, und wir werden ihn sehr vermissen“, sagte Pfarrer Dr. Frank Hinkelmann, stellvertretender Vorsitzender des Internationalen Rates der WEA und Präsident der Europäischen Evangelischen Allianz.

„Corneliu war ein Mann mit bemerkenswerten akademischen und unternehmerischen Fähigkeiten, aber auch ein Mensch mit besonderen menschlichen und christlichen Qualitäten. Wir sind zuversichtlich, dass das Leben und das Beispiel von Corneliu für viele, die ihn persönlich oder durch seine Veröffentlichungen kennengelernt haben, weiterhin ein Meilenstein und eine Quelle der Inspiration sein wird“, sagte Pfarrer Prof. Dr. Alexandru Neagoe, Präsident des Areopagus-Zentrums in Timisoara, Rumänien.

„Corneliu war über ein Jahrzehnt lang ein lieber Freund und Kollege im Networking Team von INFEMIT, ein leidenschaftlicher, kreativer und engagierter Pionier in der theologischen Ausbildung und brachte Lachen und Tiefe, Energie und Perspektive in unser gemeinsames Leben und unsere Arbeit. Seine Lebensfreude und sein unermüdlicher und fruchtbarer Einsatz für Gottes Werk waren ansteckend, ein Geschenk und eine Inspiration für alle, die das Privileg hatten, ihn zu kennen“, sagte Ruth Padilla DeBorst, Koordinatorin des Vernetzungsteams der International Fellowship for Mission as Transformation (INFEMIT).


Downloads und Links:

  • Foto: Prof. Dr. Corneliu Constantineanu © privat

Dokumente

BQ0686.pdf